NYC: Love at first sight

Yes, in my whole life I have never been to New York City. However, to make up for this I will not only visit as a tourist but live and work in this beautiful city.img-20160903-wa0000

But before I get ahead of myself, let’s start at the beginning.

Of course, I wanted to visit before moving to this incredible city. Therefore, I booked together with the other girls from IIB the trip organized by University to New York City. We left  New Paltz in the early morning to enjoy a whole day in the city.

The view of Manhattan before the bus entered the Lincoln Tunnel was already breathtaking. But it was even better when we got off the bus at Bryant Park. While walking down 6th Avenue I could not stop looking up at the huge skyscrapers.

After some lunch and shopping at Herald Square, we walked up Broadway towards Times Square to gaze at the huge luminous advertisings.

img-20160903-wa0006

We took the subway up towards Upper Westside to explore the area around our future home in New York City on 99th Street and Broadway. After looking at the street and not finding the exact building we decided that we were satisfied to just see the surrounding and sat down at a beautiful café called “The Earth Café” to enjoy some coffee and muffins.

 

fb_img_1473553071093

As Central Park is not far from the area we took a long stroll trough the park, marvelled the beautiful nature and envisioned how we will walk trough the park in autumn and winter and how beautiful it will look then. We made a stop at the Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir to look at the striking skyline. We then took a train from the 86th street back to Times Square and walk towards Bryant Park to catch the bus back to New Paltz.

img-20160904-wa0002

When I sat on the bus I knew I fell in love with this city and I eagerly anticipate to move to New York City.

 

 

 

