New Paltz – Better than expected

img_1762I was thinking that everyone were going to write about the weekend in New York City, so I thought I would write about something else, about our first weeks. Now we almost have been here for four weeks, and I enjoy every minute of it. Even though I haven’t had the time to really think of everything we do, because the time passes by so quickly, one thing I noticed from the beginning is that everyone are so nice and helpful. These almost four weeks in New Paltz have been amazing, much better than I expected. It is a very small town and a lot of homework but I am having a really good time and I think it is because people are so nice.
Since I have travelled half the world, to a country with a culture verydifferent from the culture back in Sweden, I knew there were going to be some differences in the everyday life. Here is three main differences in everyday life that I have noticed:

  • If you are crossing the street, if there is no pedestrian crossing, all the cars stop. In Sweden, the cars would have gone around you, honk the horn and look at you very angry.
  • All of the public toilets are wide open from the floor to your knees (almost), you can even see your neighbor’s shoes. At this point I do think that maybe I am to Swedish, who wants my privacy and all that. In Sweden often the public toilets are closed toilets with real doors. If we have openimg_1764 stalls, they are open down by the floor with a height of maybe 5 centimeters.
  • The portions are made for three persons. I know that it is very common here that you can bring the food home in a doggy bag, but still there must be so much food going to waste. But on the other hand you really get what you are paying for, which is a plus!

Today everyone signed up for the ziplining, which is a trip that the university arrange to the students where you go up in the mountains and ride a zipline back to the ground. I am so excited and I know we are going to have so much fun. Talk to you later!

