Interning in the U S of A

39411bb

 

 

To think we are in week 5 of our internships just blows my mind. Where has the time gone? It felt like only yesterday that I walked through the office doors, completely out of my comfort zone, questioning whether I was going to look like a fool.

Coming from an Information Systems Management background, working in the Financial Industry during my NYC internship was the ultimate goal. I had a strong desire to gain an understanding of the industry and grasp the fundamentals and mechanics of the daily operations in the Finance world.

Everything about the industry was completely new to me including the culture and finance terminology. The first couple of weeks the tasks were relatively simple, but as time goes on and you are able to demonstrate your capabilities, you are given more responsibilities and the expectations of you become higher.

I now work alongside the Firm’s Chief Compliance Officer and my tasks vary from day to day. I am very fortunate to have built a relationship with my supervisor whereby we meet daily to discuss what I am working on and upcoming projects for me to turn my focus to.

I am excited to see what the next 4 weeks has in store for me, the challenges, and the opportunity to learn is what i look forward to every day!

