Amateur Night at the Apollo!

As we realise our time in New York City is flying by, Elisa, Henrik and myself decided that despite the cold weather, we would make attempts to get out and about during the week, after work.

Amateur Night at the Apollo Theatre in Harlem was recommended to me when I visited New York City in August 2013. Unfortunately time got away from me and I was unable to make it, but I knew I had to get there at some stage – and boy, am I glad I did!

Amateur Night at the Apollo is one of New York’s most popular live entertainment experiences, attracting performers and audiences the world over. The classic competition is known for its notoriously “tough” audience, gleefully deciding who will “be good or be gone” to win the grand prize. And the best part – at Amateur Night, you decide.

This really is a ‘one of a kind’ experience, and I cannot not wait to go back to listen to some more talent. It is honestly a night full of laughs, and the best way to spend $26 on a Wednesday evening. The theatre is a 3-minute walk from the subway station, making it very accessible.

I highly recommend you pay this place a visit – it discovered the likes of Jimi Hendrix, Ella Fitzgerald and James Brown, just to name a few.

 

Katrina

