Meeting Diane…

It has already been two weeks since I started my internship at DVF and I already got the opportunity to meet her. It was a surreal and amazing experience! Diane invited all the interns to her office to chat for a little while. She just wanted to get to know us and to answer any questions we had. You can imagine how excited we all were, I just remember the day before everyone was talking about the appointment we had with her.

We went into her office, ate some cookies, drank juice and waited for her. Then suddenly there she was, at the door, smiling as always. She came in, closed the door and just said, “ Oh, this is a nice class we have here.” Everyone giggled, maybe because they didn’t how to act or because they were impressed by her powerful presence. I was astonished by the way she looked, not only by her beauty but also really by this strong and confident aura that she had.

Then she invited us to sit down and the talking began. She first asked each one of us our name, department and what we wanted to do in the future. I have to admit that I was really nervous as my turn to speak was getting closer. “And what about you?” she said. I was sitting just in front of her, less than a meter, it seemed like a real face-to-face talk. “I’m from Mexico and this is my second week”. I just hoped she understood everything that I was saying, maybe my English wasn’t that good because of my nerves. “I’m at the licensing department, I’m studying marketing back home and I would like to stick around this area in the future”. I didn’t know what else to say and she just asked “Ok, good so the marketing department and PR and all of that?” “Yes exactly”, I answered. Really simple and direct, but it was great…

Then the questions began, I wasn’t sure what to ask but after some six girls raised their hand I had the guts to do it and again she stared at me. “If you could give an advice to girls our age what would that be?” “Well how old are you?” she said. She was funny, everyone laughed and then I nervously answered “Well like 20 something, I’m 23”. Then she replied something that I kept thinking through out the rest of the day. “Well the best advice would be that the best relationship you will ever have would be with yourself”. Again really simple, but great and so true…

After the meeting I just felt so proud to be part of DVF. I love what the brand represents and specially the way she supports and encourages women. That day, Diane reminded me that women should always be confident of their power and they should always keep fighting for their dreams.

Diane-von-Furstenberg-Interview

