Phone Interviews

If there is more than one candidate for an internship position, some firms want to conduct a phone interview before inviting students to a company visit. This is all new to me, to conduct an interview via phone makes it a lot harder to impress someone, I want to use body language and be able to see the person in front of me. In addition, it doesn’t really feel like a real interview, the nervousness isn’t really there.

However, I have realized that there is only one way to go to make it feel more like a real interview and to be your best self: Put on the clothes you would have worn on a real interview, even though no one is going to see you. Find a place that resembles an office (Career center in the Humanities building can help you with that), and pretend. Pretend that you are there.

Believe me, this works. I just landed an interview in NYC.

